Over 141 Years of Service to the Furniture Industry
Follow Us on Twitter  Follow Us on Twitter HyperLink RSS Feed Email Us  Login

Mengel Furniture, Mengel Man, Permanized

Posted By Candice Pharo, 7/19/2005

Login to Reply to this Topic

Does anyone have historical information on Mengel Furniture. I have a dresser and night stand that are marked "Mengel, Mengal Man, Permanized". I have also seen advertisements for Mengel Furniture on E-Bay but can not find any historic information on Mengel Furniture except that it was made by C.C. Mengel from Louisville, KY by the Mengel Box Company/ Mengel Furniture Company. Any information would be appreciated. Thank you.

Replies

From The Swamp Angel, 3/13/2014  2:34 AM

I am still learning a bit about Mengel. I can tell you this much though, the "Mengel Man" logo was designed by my grandfather, Robert Lee Tullis. He was a foreman for Mengel whose mainstay was on the front lines of cutting the timber required to manufacture the furniture. 

He began his career with Mengel in Hickman, Kentucky, a small town on the banks of the Mississippi river. When catastrophe struck in the form of fire (if I recall correctly), the Hickman division was split and half were sent to Michigan and the other half to Mississippi and Louisiana. Fortunately (in my assessment) my grandfather was sent south.

His first assignment was in Basin, Mississippi, near Lucedale. There, Mengel cut cypress and tupelo to turn into quality furniture. It was here that he also took on the pseudonym "Swamp Angel" which he used as he wrote articles for the Hickman Courier, as well as local papers in south Mississippi.  (I have usurped this pseudonym or my own purposes, although I readily admit that I am far inferior to this man whom I never had the opportunity to meet.)