Over 154 Years of Service to the Furniture Industry
 Furniture World Logo

Are internet furniture sales hurting retail stores?

My name is Ryan and I am an MBA student at the University of Central Oklahoma. Would you mind answering a quick question on the furniture industry needed for a class assignment? I need to know if online Internet furniture sales have been hurting the sales of retail stores. Ethan Allen and Furniture Brands in particular have either closed or consolidated a  number of stores lately. I wonder if online shopping is part of the reason  why. Any answer you can give will be very helpful!

Posted By RyanM, 11/22/2012

Login to Reply to this Topic

Replies

From Benjo21, 2/22/2016  12:21 AM

From personal experience, online sales do indeed take a big market share from independent brick and mortar furniture stores as well as well known chains.

One big problem is that our own vendors/distributors in our industry, many, but not all, , are selling direct to the consumer online and under cutting the b&M retailer.

Another issue is that independent retailers that are not specialized in their furniture, will eventually be gone in about another decade.  These days you can't just open a store and throw a bunch different furniture on the floor from 100 different local vendors and expect to sell a lot.  Many indpendent furniture stores buy from the same local vendor.  This is why you see that  many of these small ecommerce sites selling the same product. It eventually becomes a price war and the margins start shrinking and shrinking.

The future for independent furniture retailers is all about niche and specialization, especially since rents are high, you will have limited showroom space. 

Secondly, the future will be in direct importing.  If you do not import or manufacture yourself, you will eventually have to close up shop. 

A retailer cannot compete in price, nor shipping with a wholesaler/importer who also sells online and direct to the consumer.