Over 154 Years of Service to the Furniture Industry
 Furniture World Logo

Walter of Wabash dining set

Hello, I am new to this board and I have recently purchased a dining set that consists of six ladderback chairs, with rush seats and a dining table with slender legs. It is stamped Walter of Wabash underneath the table and there is also a label stamped that I can only make out part of. It says something about Mastercraft, has a set of lot numbers and that's it. Can anyone help me identify the age and origin of this piece? Thanks for your help. Jennifer

Posted By Jennifer, 7/21/2007

Login to Reply to this Topic

Replies

From Msbobbie, 9/13/2011  1:19 AM

I am new to this so everyone bare with me.  I have a lovely soft maplewood table with (2) leafs,  along with these gorgeous multi-colored needlepoint dining chairs and a Captain's Chair.  When we turned the table over it was stamped Walter of Wabash and we could not find any other information.  With my current research most of the responses have stated that the leaf inserts are made by him.  At this point I am very confused and just need some advice on if there are other furniture makers responsible for making this dining set and who they are.  The couple that sold if to my farther over 20 years ago said it was made in the 1940 - 1950's. Please help!

From Jennifer, 8/5/2011  12:42 PM

I HAVE A TABLE WITH WALTER OF ABASH PRINTED ON THE WOOD. TABLE & CHAIRS ARE WHITE WITH GOLD & JEWELS ACROSS THE BACK OF THE CHAIRS, MABE A 1960'S??

From Jennifer, 7/13/2011  3:37 PM

I like the style of your website! It looks really nice.

From Jennifer, 6/29/2011  12:26 PM

Hey whats up guys, awesome form, looking forward to reading everyones posts.

From Antfjai, 6/20/2011  7:33 PM

Salutations à tous les membres de ce site web ,           ;           ;           ;